Do Or Pie

Almond Biscotti

Leave a comment

I have to own up to my Thanksgiving baking mishap: I exploded our pumpkin pie. Let me explain. I took the pie out of the oven and placed it on the stove top (so far so good). I then proceeded to turn on a burner to boil tea water but actually turned on the heat under the glass pie dish. A few minutes later the pie dish was shattered. I am now the most vigilant chef of ever when it comes to turning on burners. Lesson learned? I’m certain this stuff happens to no one else. Wah.

gretchen

I made these biscotti the week before Thanksgiving thinking we would save them for the big day. I should have known they wouldn’t last nearly that long. The recipe was insanely simple, and produced the perfect cookie to pair with coffee or tea. Added bonus: literally anything would taste good mixed into these biscotti. I used almonds but next time I’d love to try chocolate chips or dried cranberries. Added added bonus: I did not explode this dessert in error (re: exploded pie above).

Let’s address the elephant in the room: biscotti means “cookies” in Italian. Now everyone ponder how little sense this makes when used in English. Yeah.

Adapted from Bon Appetit

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
Pinch of salt
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon orange juice
2 1/4 cups whole almonds (about 12 ounces; I used roasted whole almonds)

Mix dry ingredients. Add eggs one at a time. Add honey and orange juice. After ingredients are combined, mix in whole almonds.

Spread batter on a prepared baking sheet using a spatula until it forms a roughly rectangular shape that’s about 3/4 inch thick. Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. Turn down the oven to 350 degrees and bake for another 10 minutes. The cookie dough should be golden brown on top.

Remove the entire mass onto a cooling rack. After a few minutes, slice into 1-inch wide wedges. Arrange on a prepared baking sheet and bake at 350 for another 7 minutes. Biscotti will be browned and crunchy.

Author: Zoe (Do Or Pie)

I live, work, and bake in NYC.

Leave a Reply

