Do Or Pie

Cranberry Muffins

2 Comments

DSC_0291

I know everyone likes to complain about Valentine’s Day but it’s actually an excellent food holiday. Thanksgiving, Passover, and any holiday involving bagels and lox are clearly my preferences, but I’ll support a day that encourages chocolate consumption. My office is having a Valentine’s breakfast and I volunteered to bring muffins. Not many people at work know the extent of my baking obsession so this feels like kind of a big deal. I got a little over-excited and made the muffins last night. The freezer is now full of fat little muffins which no one will eat until Friday morning and I’ll spend the rest of the week praying the muffins are still delicious and not freezer-y. Since I know my powers of restraint are limited I made a few mini muffins that I wouldn’t feel badly about snacking on. I mean, it was mini muffins or what? Eat the office’s breakfast? Really I’ve done everyone a favor.

Each mini muffin has exactly one cranberry and one or two walnut pieces. The proportions could not be any more adorable.

mini muffin

Adapted from the New York Times

1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 tsps orange zest
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups frozen cranberries (but any berries work well in these muffins)
Chopped walnuts (optional)

In a standing mixer cream together butter and sugar for about 5 minutes until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Add sour cream, vanilla, and orange zest.

In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add slowly to the wet mixture until combined. With a spatula fold in the berries.

Add batter to prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle the tops with a few walnuts.  I used 18 regular and 10 mini muffin cups. You would probably get about 24 regular muffins if you’re conservative with the batter. Fill each cup about 3/4 of the way to the top. But really, are you actually going to skip the chance to make squee-worthy mini muffins? Nope.

Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes. Tops will be golden brown and springy when you poke them.

DSC_0281

DSC_0289

Author: Zoe (Do Or Pie)

I live, work, and bake in NYC.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Muffins

  1. Psh. Complain about Vday? It’s the best excuse to eat chocolate! LOVE cranberries when they’ve been baked. So delicious and sweet!

Leave a Reply

